Author Topic: Problem running 2D analysis  (Read 50 times)

jmussat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Problem running 2D analysis
« on: March 05, 2020, 02:46:26 PM »
Hello,

The program doesn't run the analysis for a 2D Column 1D Shaking. It does run a 3D Column Bidirectional Shaking but if I try first a 2D analysis then the 3D doesn't.

I'm running v1.1.1 on Windows 10. 

I have attached the configuration file of a 2D Column + the screenshot of the profile, rock motion and slope parameters.

Thanks!

charles

  • Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2020, 04:14:37 PM »
I did a quick test on mac, didn't reproduce this same issue. 
so it seems this is indeed a windows-specific issue.
I'll find a windows to test, will let you know soon. :)

jmussat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2020, 06:02:12 PM »
Thanks! I tried it in Mac and worked fine. Needed to switch appearance to light mode

charles

  • Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2020, 11:05:06 PM »
It's great that you confirm it works fine on mac.  :)
I had a chance to test it on windows.
It seems this is a problem caused by OpenSees 3.1 windows version, at least one material is not working.
We're rebuilding OpenSees and will let you know if it works.

Thanks for pointing out the dark mode appearance.
I seldom use dark mode, so never noticed that, until you pointed it out.  :D
I'll see what I can do about it.

charles

  • Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2020, 05:48:33 PM »
Turned out it is caused by opensees 3.1.
The latest version opensees 3.2 is now available, the issue is gone.  :D

Hello,

The program doesn't run the analysis for a 2D Column 1D Shaking. It does run a 3D Column Bidirectional Shaking but if I try first a 2D analysis then the 3D doesn't.

I'm running v1.1.1 on Windows 10. 

I have attached the configuration file of a 2D Column + the screenshot of the profile, rock motion and slope parameters.

Thanks!

jmussat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2020, 06:05:30 PM »
Thanks Charles! Just tried it updating OpenSees and works fine!

charles

  • Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running 2D analysis
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2020, 08:31:19 PM »
Great to hear that  :)