Author Topic: EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen  (Read 1644 times)

Anne Hulsey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen
« on: July 02, 2021, 06:53:17 PM »
Hello,

I just installed EE-UQ on a Windows laptop connected to a second monitor. When the interface opens, it is far too large for the screen. When I click the maximize, the interface doesn't scale well. When the log window pops up, it is not centered on the screen and I can't reach the top bar to move it. When the results are viewed, the graph is either too small to see (if the window is maximized) or the window is so large that I cannot see all the features.

Could you give any advice on how to get it to fit the screen better? Let me know if any details about the screen configuration would be helpful.

Thanks,
Anne

pmackenz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2021, 07:01:46 PM »
Anne,

Thank you for the feedback and especially thanks for the screenshots.

I do have an idea on what is causing the issue but need a quick test to confirm.  Would you be so kind and try one thing for me: disconnect the second screen and relaunch EE-UQ.  Does that fit properly on your screen then? 

Thanks,
Peter

Anne Hulsey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2021, 07:03:29 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply. Restarting with the monitor unplugged gives the same result.

kuanshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2021, 08:06:45 PM »
Hi Anne,

This issue might be related to the screen resolution.  Can you try to change the resolution in the "Settings" (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/change-desktop-icon-size-or-screen-resolution-c6626736-5bb0-e094-7f03-49c828ff5da3, https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/change-your-displays-resolution-mchl86d72b76/mac#:~:text=display%20is%20connected.-,On%20your%20Mac%2C%20choose%20Apple%20menu%20%3E%20System%20Preferences%2C,click%20Displays%2C%20then%20click%20Display.&text=Press%20and%20hold%20the%20Option,option%20for%20the%20second%20display.).

If this does not work out, maybe try to use mouse to resize the message window either laterally or vertically, just to see if the view can be recovered. Please let me know if these could help to resume the view and maybe we could schedule a meeting to sort this issue out together.

Thanks,
Kuanshi (kuanshi@stanford.edu)

Anne Hulsey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: EE-UQ interface doesn't fit on screen
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2021, 09:12:07 PM »
Thanks, Kuanshi. Yes, adjusting the display settings made it better. I kept the same resolution but changed the scaling from the recommended 150% down to 100%. I'll just toggle back and forth whenever I want to use SimCenter products.

Regarding using the mouse to resize horizontally or vertically, there is a limit on how small it can get. Also, sometimes resizing (especially pulling up from the top edge) makes the window disappear. The icon remains on the task bar but I can't view the window again unless I close it and restart.

Anne